Managing your budget

27 September 2021

How to manage your student budget

It’s often said that your student days are the best of your life. Graduating is the end goal, but of course you want to have fun in the meantime. Proper budgeting of your finances will ensure you don’t have to miss any of the fun. Here’s how to get going.

Going to the cinema, on nights out and doing your hobbies: it all costs money. Then there’s also books, your student accommodation and food shopping. Budgeting your finances as a student ensures that you don’t inadvertently end up in the red without skimping on any of the fun.

Start by listing your expenses…

Data equals knowledge! It’s important to know how much you spend in a month and how much money comes in. If you repeat that exercise a few months in a row, it will give you a good idea of your average monthly expenses. 

In practice, you should divide your expenses into three categories. Only list the things that have to come out of your own student budget:

  • Your income. This includes wages from your student job as well as any pocket money you get from your parents. It may also include your academic scholarship.
  • Your basic expenses. This includes recurrent monthly expenses like your rent and phone subscription, but also what you spend on food and drink. Your academic registration fees and books also go in this category. And don’t forget to set a monthly savings goal and put that amount aside at the start of each month.
  • The extras. Things like going to the cinema, going out for dinner or joining your student association’s skiing trip. These are things you can skimp on when things get tight at the end of the month.

Tip:

It’s easy to check your income and expenses in the last months via the ING Banking app. And you can check the balance on your ING Lion Account current account whenever and wherever you want.

…then determine your budget

A piece of paper or an Excel file is the easiest budget planner. But there are also plenty of handy free budgeting apps to help you budget on your smartphone. The Wikifin online budgeting tool is worth a try if you want to learn how to handle money. This budget calculator is an initiative by the Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA). Another tip: immediately make up your student budget for the entire academic year at the start.

Extra tips for saving on your student budget

1. Double-check if you are eligible for a scholarship. You can do so on the Flemish government website or the Wallonia-Brussels Federation website, depending on where you study.

2. Assess your subscriptions. Have you stopped going to the gym? Do you only occasionally read the newspaper? Cancel your subscriptions to save money. The free feature ING OneView in the ING Banking app lets you do so in a few simple taps, with no admin.

3. Compare prices online. Especially when you are about to impulse buy or make a bigger purchase. A competitor might offer your desired item at a cheaper price. 

4. Keep an eye on the balance of your student bank account. With the ING Banking app, you don’t even have to think about that yourself. Once set up you will get a push notification as soon as your balance drops below a certain level, or when your student money arrives.

5. Buy second hand. From course books to clothing: the options are endless. And you can sell the things you don’t need anymore.

6. Bag discounts. Your student card will come in handy for this. There are also dedicated student prices for bus, train and metro. And you can get cashback discounts with ING+ deals.

7. Find a fun part time job. Do make sure it’s easy to combine with your studies. We have created a separate article on frequently asked questions around student jobs.

This is the time to do what moves you

Gérer votre budget

Étudiant ? Gérez votre budget comme un pro !

On dit souvent que les études sont la meilleure période de notre vie. Le diplôme est l’objectif ultime mais avant de l’obtenir, autant en profiter, non ? Pour ce faire, il faut savoir gérer son budget. Voici la marche à suivre.

Aller au cinéma, sortir avec ses potes, assister à des concerts... Tout cela coûte de l'argent, sans compter les cours et votre kot. Bien gérer son budget étudiant vous permet de profiter de votre vie sans se mettre en difficulté.  

Commencez par lister vos coûts…

Le mieux est de tenir une véritable comptabilité. Notez vos dépenses et l’argent que vous gagnez/recevez chaque mois. Faites cela pendant plusieurs mois.

Concrètement, pensez aux trois choses suivantes. Ne prenez en compte que ce que vous devez payer par vous-même :

  • Vos revenus. Pensez au salaire de votre éventuel job étudiant ou bien à l’argent de poche que vous recevez peut-être de vos parents. Et si vous êtes un étudiant boursier, tenez compte du montant de cette bourse.
  • Vos dépenses de base. La location de votre kot, votre abonnement internet et de téléphonie mais aussi toutes les dépenses liées à la nourriture. Sans oublier les frais d’inscription à l’université et tous les frais de scolarité possibles et imaginables. Faites la somme de toutes ces dépenses, décidez du montant que vous voulez épargner chaque mois et mettez-le de côté au début du mois.
  • Vos sorties. On parle ici des dépenses liées à vos loisirs : cinéma, sorties, restaurant entre amis ou voyage au ski avec votre cercle d’étudiants. Si vous êtes un peu à court d’argent, essayez de limiter ces sorties pour faire quelques économies.

Bon à savoir :

Vous pouvez facilement jeter un œil à vos revenus et vos dépenses des derniers mois grâce à l’application ING Banking. Vous pouvez vérifier le solde de votre compte à vue ING Lion Account où et quand vous le voulez

… Et établissez votre budget étudiant

Vous pouvez le faire sur une bête feuille de papier ou dans un fichier Excel. Cela dit, il existe plein d’applications gratuites qui peuvent vous y aider. Vous pouvez par exemple essayer l’outil Wikifin. Il s'agit d'une initiative de l'Autorité des services et marchés financiers (FSMA). Un conseil : commencez dès que possible à établir votre budget étudiant pour l'ensemble de l'année académique.

Quelques conseils pour faire des économies

1. Vérifiez si vous êtes éligible à une bourse d’études. Pour ce faire, rendez-vous sur le site de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.  

2. Pensez à vos divers abonnements. Vous n’allez plus à la salle de sport ? Vous ne lisez plus les magazines et les journaux auxquels vous êtes abonné ? Alors résiliez rapidement vos abonnements pour faire des économies. D’ailleurs, grâce à la fonctionnalité gratuite ING OneView de votre application ING Banking, vous pouvez le faire en quelques clics, sans aucune paperasse.

3. Comparez les prix en ligne. Si vous êtes du genre à faire des achats compulsifs et coûteux, comparez toujours les prix.

4. Gardez toujours un œil sur le solde de votre compte courant. Grâce à l’application ING Banking, vous n’avez rien à faire. Une fois la fonctionnalité configurée, vous recevrez une notification dès que votre solde sera inférieur au montant préalablement défini. 

5. Achetez d’occasion. Qu'il s'agisse de vos cours, vos livres ou vos vêtements : les possibilités sont infinies. Et n’hésitez pas à vendre les choses que vous n'utilisez plus.

6. Recherchez des promotions et réductions. Grâce à votre carte étudiant, vous avez droit à pas mal de réductions, alors utilisez-la au maximum. Il existe, par exemple, des tarifs spéciaux pour les transports en commun. Avec les ING+ deals, vous pouvez en outre bénéficier de réductions sous forme de cashbacks dans de nombreux magasins.

7. Trouvez un job étudiant. Mais assurez-vous d’être capable de le combiner avec vos études supérieures. Dans un autre article, nous répondons à toutes les questions fréquemment posées sur les jobs étudiants. 

C’est le moment de faire ce que vous aimez !