Managing your capital

What are the dynamics of the stock market in times of crisis?

We want to invest with our heads, but sometimes instinct takes over. Especially in times of crisis, like the current one. What is happening on the trading floor during the Corona crisis and how can insights from behavioural finance guide us?

Anxiety about the Coronavirus has seen the economy and the markets shift down a few gears. The fact that physical access to consumption has been limited provides only a partial explanation of the downturn. In comparable situations, companies and consumers have tended to be more careful with their money, especially spending. After all, with fewer people working and less income across the general population comes more uncertainty.

The Coronavirus is not only costing companies a great deal of money, it also means they have less money coming in. This translates into prices on the stock market. Investors are expecting less-than-rosy numbers in the (near) future and are factoring this into share prices. After all, investors do not just look at the current value of companies and their potential dividends, but mainly at their potential over the long term. That is why market charts generally show trends ahead of real economic statistics. 

Conflicting visions

The market is a fascinating interplay of supply and demand. Millions of transactions take place and billions of assets change ownership on a daily basis. For each of those transactions there are always two parties, each with a completely different vision. Looking down one end of a telescope is a seller who concludes that the cream has been skimmed. Looking at the very same share from the other end of a telescope is a buyer who does see growth potential and potential profit.  

Investing on instinct as well

How can one person decide that now is the time to sell while another is deciding that it is the time to buy? There are 1001 factors influencing such decisions. For a long time, we assumed that investors weighed such decisions based on facts and insights including expected price/profit, dividend yield, economic indicators and the quality of management. However, for a few decades now, behavioural finance has shed a more nuanced light on the subject. While we, in principle, invest with our heads, in practice we allow ourselves to be guided by instinct. It's no coincidence that we are discussing market ‘sentiment’.

While we, in principle, invest with our heads, in practice we allow ourselves to be guided by instinct.

Lack of competences?

In crisis situations like the one we are experiencing today, such dynamics come to the fore in a more dramatic way. The market can seem like a pinball machine. One moment, investors are sending shares to the depths only to send them skyrocketing again, barely a day later. In part, these drastic price variations can be explained rationally, as responses to impulses like a pep talk from central banks, new fiscal stimulus, triggered algorithms or positive news about the Coronavirus. But a certain amount of this behaviour is sheer panic, euphoria/overconfidence, speculation - all of which have nothing to do with a lack of competences. They are purely external influences that investors, however knowledgeable they may be, find difficult to ignore.

Financial resilience to loss

One of the influences affecting our decision-making is our natural aversion to loss. Nobel prize-winner Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky discovered that losing is twice as powerful an experience as winning. Negative feelings that come from loss are much stronger that the positivity that results from gains. There's no question of symmetry here. This leads to certain behaviour by investors. For example, it leads to being very focussed on the one investment that is in the red and neglecting investments that are doing well. Or it can result in selling an investment with the aim of preventing further losses, even though it is objectively better to buy more. Alternatively, it can lead to investing in defensive products that yield little or no return, and that erode purchasing power.

Contamination risk

While we generally make investment decisions ourselves or with an adviser, we also let ourselves be guided by others. In times of crisis like these, there are higher levels of 'contamination risk’ and 'herd mentality’ on the market floor. That is not necessarily a negative because sometimes it can really pay to do what everyone else is doing. After all, group dynamics can ensure that the damage remains limited: everyone else is taking cover, so the best thing I can do now is to sell my investments quickly. If the herd made a poor decision, it was in any case a collective decision. As an individual investor, you are not solely to blame because everyone made the same, incorrect assessment. Insights from behavioural finance indicate that loss is more painful when an investor has the feeling that they, and they alone, are responsible for their loss or limited profit. Following the crowd can, on the other hand, also be quite negative: it can lead to missed opportunities and a lower return over the longer return.

Short term

Investors hate uncertainty. This crisis brings with it not only market-related uncertainties. For many investors it feels even more oppressive because it has a direct impact on their lifestyle. Add to this mix a high dose of volatility, our natural aversion to loss and market news that is always just a swipe or click away... and it's easy to see how an impulsive decision is quickly made. Behavioural finance also teaches us that, in general, we prefer not to look very far into the future when it comes to investing. Experiments show that we are often inclined to opt for a smaller gain in the short term rather than a larger gain in the future. That is why many investors prefer to look at the current economic situation and short-term predictions, especially in crisis situations. 

Those who persevere, win

For both the novice and experienced investor, the message is still the same: investing is a long-term endeavour. However wildly the market has recently zigzagged and may continue to do so for a while: the dip and the volatility should prove to be irrelevant for those investing over the long term. The history shows that markets always recover and go on to climb further. For example, over the past 100 years the S&P 500 (and its predecessors) experienced 14 bear markets, but the index still recorded strong growth: from just nine points at the start of 1920 to 3,278 points at the end of 2019. 

Which investment solutions?

Opting for periodic investing; opting for solutions with capital protection; opting for flexible, mixed funds; opting for discretionary management... There are solutions for every type of investor that will kick the emotional component into the long grass, while preserving your peace of mind.

Want more guidance in your investments?

Gérer votre capital

Humeur des marchés: quelle dynamique boursière en période de crise?

Même si la raison devrait l’emporter, nous nous laissons souvent guider par nos émotions. A fortiori en période de crise. Comment les bourses réagissent-elles face au coronavirus ? Et que nous enseigne la finance comportementale ?

Tétanisées par la pandémie de coronavirus, l’économie et les bourses ont plongé de manière spectaculaire. Le fait que l’accès physique à la consommation soit partiellement cadenassé n’explique pas tout. Dans un tel contexte, les entreprises et les consommateurs y regardent à deux fois avant de dépenser le moindre euro. Le chômage temporaire augmente, les revenus diminuent et l’incertitude grandit…

Si la perte de chiffre d’affaires affecte la trésorerie des entreprises, elle impacte également les indices boursiers. Les investisseurs se montrent plutôt perplexes quant à une reprise à court terme et cette indécision se répercute sur le prix des actions. Outre la situation actuelle des entreprises et la distribution de dividendes hypothétiques, ils sont avant tout préoccupés par les perspectives à long terme. C’est pourquoi les graphiques boursiers ont généralement une longueur d’avance sur les statistiques économiques réelles. 

Deux visions antinomiques

La bourse est le lieu de rencontre entre l’offre et la demande. Chaque jour ont lieu des millions de transactions et plusieurs milliards de titres changent de mains. Chaque transaction met en relation deux parties possédant une vision radicalement différente. Nous avons, d’une part, un vendeur qui estime que l’actif a atteint son rendement maximum et, d’autre part, un acheteur qui, dans le même titre, entrevoit un potentiel de croissance.  

Investir sous le coup de l’émotion

La décision de vendre ou d’acheter dépend de mille et un facteurs. On a longtemps pensé que les investisseurs se basaient exclusivement sur des faits tangibles et des convictions : rendement potentiel, distribution de dividendes, indicateurs économiques, compétence du management, etc. Depuis quelques décennies, la finance comportementale a quelque peu nuancé ce postulat. Même si, en principe, nos partis pris d’investissement sont guidés par la raison, il nous arrive de prendre des décisions sous le coup de l’émotion. C’est en cela que l’expression « humeur des marchés » prend tout son sens. 

Même si, en principe, nos partis pris d’investissement sont guidés par la raison, il nous arrive de prendre des décisions sous le coup de l’émotion.

Un manque de compétences ?

En période de crise comme celle que nous traversons actuellement, ce type de comportement est extrêmement fréquent. De Tokyo à Wall Street, les bourses font du yo-yo. On assiste en alternance à des mouvements de panique, qui poussent les investisseurs à vendre à tout prix, et à un comportement euphorique permettant aux marchés de repartir à la hausse. Un changement de stratégie aussi radical comprend une part de rationalité : propos rassurants des banques centrales, nouveaux incitants fiscaux, algorithmes de trading, nouvelles positives à propos du coronavirus, etc. À l’opposé, il existe un comportement qui peut être dicté par la panique, l’euphorie, le goût du risque, la spéculation,… Cette attitude n’est pas due à un quelconque manque de compétences. Il s’agit tout simplement du résultat d’influences auxquelles même l’investisseur le plus averti ne saurait échapper.

Intolérance aux pertes

Parmi les influences en question figure notre aversion naturelle aux pertes. D’après la « Théorie des perspectives » (« Prospect theory ») développée par Daniel Kahneman, prix Nobel d’économie, et son collègue Amos Tversky, la douleur causée par une perte est presque deux fois plus intense que le plaisir tiré d’un gain équivalent. En d’autres termes, les sentiments négatifs générés par une perte sont plus intenses que les émotions positives créées par un bénéfice. Il n’est donc nullement question de symétrie, ce qui engendre chez les investisseurs des comportements particuliers. Comme, par exemple, porter toute son attention sur un actif qui plonge dans le rouge, tout en ignorant les placements qui ont un bon rendement. Ou vendre un actif afin de prévenir des pertes ultérieures alors qu’il est objectivement préférable d’acheter. Ou encore investir exclusivement dans des produits défensifs dont le rendement est quasi nul, au risque de perdre du pouvoir d’achat. 

Risque de « contamination »

Bien qu’investir relève principalement de l’initiative individuelle ou résulte d’une collaboration avec un conseiller, il nous arrive également de calquer notre comportement sur celui des autres investisseurs. En période de crise, comme c’est le cas aujourd’hui, le risque de « contamination » est prégnant et les « comportements grégaires » sont monnaie courante. Qu’il s’agisse de vendre ou d’acheter, on préfère ne pas être seul(e) à prendre des risques. Il ne s’agit pas forcément d’une attitude négative car il arrive que l’émulation porte ses fruits. La dynamique de groupe permet en outre de limiter les dégâts : si tout le monde commence à vendre, c’est que c’est le bon moment. Si le « troupeau » prend une mauvaise décision, celle-ci est considérée comme collective. L’investisseur individuel ne se sent pas responsable puisque tout le monde a commis la même erreur d’analyse. Selon les théoriciens de la finance comportementale, un épargnant supporte plus difficilement une perte ou un bénéfice limité s’il a le sentiment d’en porter seul la responsabilité. S’il lui arrive d’être bénéfique, l’instinct grégaire peut également s’avérer néfaste et amener les investisseurs à rater des opportunités de croissance à long terme. 

Le court terme

Les investisseurs ont horreur de l’incertitude. La crise actuelle ne résulte pas uniquement de l’instabilité des marchés. De nombreux investisseurs sont angoissés car leur environnement social et sanitaire est directement impacté. Si on y ajoute une forte dose de volatilité, notre aversion naturelle aux pertes et le fait que les informations boursières soient à portée de clic ou de « swipe », on comprend aisément qu’une décision puisse être prise de manière impulsive. La finance comportementale nous apprend également que nous avons tendance à ne pas nous projeter trop loin dans l’avenir en matière d’investissements. Des études ont démontré que nous avons souvent tendance à privilégier un petit bénéfice à court terme, plutôt que de patienter en misant sur une vision à long terme. C’est pourquoi, particulièrement en période de crise, les investisseurs privilégient les prévisions à court terme. 

La persévérance est l’un des éléments principaux du succès

Que vous soyez investisseur débutant ou chevronné, ne perdez jamais de vue qu’il est préférable d’opter pour une stratégie à long terme. Quelle que soit l’ampleur de la tempête qui agite les marchés financiers, et qui n’est probablement pas près de se calmer, les investisseurs ayant une vision à long terme ne devraient pas être trop impactés par ces turbulences et cette volatilité. L’histoire a prouvé que, quelle que soit la gravité des crises, les bourses finissent toujours par se ressaisir et par reprendre leur ascension. Ces cent dernières années, l’indice S&P 500 (et ses prédécesseurs) a connu 14 périodes de « bear market » (marché baissier), ce qui ne l’a pas empêché d’afficher une forte croissance, passant de 9 points début 1920 à 3 278 points fin 2019.  

Quelles sont les solutions ?

Opter pour l’investissement périodique, privilégier les placements avec protection de capital, choisir des fonds mixtes flexibles, préférer la gestion discrétionnaire… Quel que soit votre profil d’investissement, il existe des solutions susceptibles d’éliminer les comportements impulsifs, tout en vous permettant de continuer à dormir sur vos deux oreilles. 

Vous avez besoin d’accompagnement dans la gestion de vos investissements ?