Investments

6 January 2020

Sustainable investing: how you can make a difference

When you invest sustainably, you are investing in companies that are making a positive difference for society, the environment or corporate governance. Let’s explore…

The money that you invest in sustainable funds is invested in carefully selected companies that are conscientious in their dealings with society, the environment and corporate governance. If you opt for sustainable investing with ING, you are investing in the following:

Society, environment and corporate governance

It doesn't stop there. The companies that are taken into ING's selection of sustainable funds also have sustainable practices in other areas. Alongside their corporate citizenship undertakings they also have strict rules regarding corporate governance. And in addition, they also do their absolute best to reduce their ecological footprint.

Know what you are investing in

The sustainable funds that ING offer strive to invest in companies and organisations pursuing sustainable development:

  • With respect for the environment (for example: water management, management of greenhouse gas emission, a green purchasing policy);
  • With respect for society (for example: good working conditions, a focus on customer satisfaction);
  • And with proper corporate governance within the company itself (for example: measures countering corruption, tax evasion and bribery, a responsible remuneration policy).

Certain funds exclude companies who make more than 5% of their income from weapons, gambling, adult entertainment, fur and special leather goods, tobacco and nuclear energy.  

ING establishes a Financial Literacy Fund

Every day, thousands of people make financial transactions, such as withdrawing money from an account, taking out a loan or insurance policy, or making an electronic payment. In order to understand what these dealings involve it’s important to have a basic understanding of the various financial services and products.

Not all Belgians have this basic understanding. Financial illiteracy is, in a complex country like Belgium, often a ‘hidden’ phenomenon. In contemporary life, in which digitalisation has become the norm, there is a danger of some people being left behind. According to research from the OECD, Belgians come somewhere in the middle rankings in terms of financial literacy. Better financial knowledge is therefore in no way a luxury. 

That's why, together with five other funding partners, ING Belgium began the Financial Literacy Fund, under the aegis of the King Baudouin Foundation (KBF). Our goal? To work together to improve Belgians’ financial knowledge. And in that way to make a social impact and to contribute towards a better world.

The first years will see the Financial Literacy Fund's focus placed on pension knowledge. According to research by the FSMA (Financial Services and Markets Authority) 1 in 4 Belgians are not well prepared for their retirement. We would like to do something about that, together.

Want to invest sustainably, too?

Gérer votre capital

Contribuez à faire la différence

Lorsque vous effectuez un investissement durable et responsable, vous investissez dans des sociétés qui se distinguent positivement afin d’avoir un impact écologique, sociétal ou de bonne gouvernance. Analyse…

Investir dans des fonds durables et responsables revient à investir dans des sociétés qui sont soucieuses des enjeux environnementaux, sociaux et de gouvernance. Exemples :

Société, environnement et gouvernance

Les entreprises dans lesquelles les fonds durables et responsables sélectionnés par ING choisissent d’investir ont une politique de durabilité développée. Outre la prise en compte des aspects sociaux, ces entreprises appliquent des règles très strictes en matière, notamment, de gouvernance. De plus, elles mettent tout en œuvre afin de réduire leur empreinte écologique. 

Soyez scrupuleux

Les fonds durables et responsables proposés par ING, s’efforcent d’investir uniquement dans des entreprises et institutions privilégiant le développement durable :

  • dans le respect de l’environnement (par exemple : la gestion de l'eau, la gestion des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, une politique d'achats responsables) 
  • dans le respect de leur impact social (par exemple : des conditions de travail décentes, une politique commerciale axée sur la satisfaction client)
  • et dans le cadre d’une gouvernance d’entreprise attentive (par exemple : mesures visant à combattre la corruption, l’évasion fiscale et le trafic d’influence, politique salariale responsable)

Dans certains fonds, les entreprises qui génèrent plus de 5 % de leurs revenus grâce aux armes, aux jeux de hasard, aux divertissements pour adultes, aux fourrures, aux produits de maroquinerie spéciaux, au tabac et à l’énergie nucléaire sont exclues. 

ING a créé le « Financial Literacy Fund »

Chaque jour, des milliers de personnes effectuent des transactions financières comme prélever de l’argent d’un compte, souscrire un crédit ou une assurance, ou encore payer des achats de manière électronique. Pour bien comprendre ce que tous ces petits gestes impliquent, il est important de disposer d’une connaissance de base concernant les différents produits et services financiers.

 Tous les Belges ne disposent pas de cette connaissance de base. L’illettrisme financier est, dans un pays prospère comme la Belgique, souvent un phénomène « occulté ». Dans la société actuelle où le numérique est devenu la norme, certains risquent de rater le coche. Selon une étude de l’OCDE, les Belges se situent plutôt dans la moyenne en la matière. Par conséquent, une meilleure connaissance financière est loin d’être un luxe.

C’est pourquoi ING Belgique a constitué, en 2019, sous l’égide de la Fondation Roi Baudouin, un partenariat avec cinq gestionnaires de fonds, afin de créer le « Financial Literacy Fund ». L’objectif de ce fonds est d’améliorer la « connaissance » des Belges. Par cette initiative, nous souhaitons étendre notre impact social.

Les premières années, le « Financial Literacy Fund » se focalisera sur une meilleur préparation aux pensions. Une enquête de la FSMA (Autorité des Services et Marchés Financiers) révèle qu’un Belge sur quatre n’est pas suffisamment préparé au moment de prendre sa pension. 

Vous souhaitez également investir de manière durable et responsable ?