Managing your budget

15 december 2016

New payment methods: the end of cash?

The world of financial transactions has been going through a real revolution for the past few years. Cash and cards have almost become has beens and are facing competition from increasingly innovative methods. We take a detailed look at them on your behalf.

Bank cards: new generation

Clearly, traditional payment methods are not going away any time soon. You can still pay in shops with cash and by card (and probably for a long time yet). However, bank cards are becoming increasingly innovative.

In the debit cards category (where the amount is debited from your account directly at the time of the transaction), we are seeing more and more contactless cards appearing: these allow you to make payments just by putting them near a terminal, without inserting them or entering a pin code. For security purposes, the amounts that can be spent are limited.

Credit cards (which allow differed payment of your purchases) are becoming increasingly secure to prevent online fraud, for example the “Verified by Visa” or “MasterCard SecureCode” systems that add an additional mandatory verification step to let you make online payments, for example a password or a code sent by text message. Check the websites you are shopping on; the most serious ones will use these protocols.

Payment apps: pay with your smartphone!

Smartphone apps are the real innovation today. You no longer need your wallet to pay for your purchases! Here are two well-known ones.

Payconiq: pay without banking details

The Payconiq app allows you to make payments without needing the recipients’ bank details.

  • Member stores are listed in the app. You can therefore make your purchases by selecting them and entering your pin code to confirm the payment.
  • In the same way, you can make a payment to any of your contacts who also have the app, using their phone number or e-mail address. All you need to do is select the contact you want to pay money to and confirm the transaction using your pin code.
  • Cherry on the cake: you earn joyn (Qustomer and CityLife) loyalty points every time you use Payconiq!
Bancontact: pay using a QR code

The Bancontact app allows you to pay in store or online through a simple scan:

  • To be able to use the application, you have to pre-register your bank cards. You can choose which one you want to pay with at each transaction.
  • You can then make payments in stores or webshops with the technology: you simply scan the QR code presented by the merchant. Then check that the result matches the amount of your purchases and confirm the transaction with your pin code.
  • Good to know: you can also receive payments. The app enables you to generate a QR code that can be scanned by another user to send you a payment.

Don’t have cash on you but need to pay your share of lunch at a restaurant, day spent at a theme park or joint birthday gift for your friend? These apps allow you to do it in just one click!

PC Banking: my secure environment

Besides these new payment methods, PC Banking is still the secure online environment provided by your bank to enable you to check your accounts, do your transactions, etc. Thanks to this tool, you can make payments from your computer if you have your recipient’s bank details.

In addition, some online stores also enable you to make a payment directly via your PC Banking system. This allows you to pay for your purchases through your bank’s secure environment.

Now it’s your turn!

Now you’re ready for whatever comes your way and will always be able to find a way to make your payments!

Want to find out more about new payment technologies? Contact your ING representative, make an appointment in branch or call +32 2 464 60 04.

Article written in association with TopCompare.

* Offer of debit cards or credit cards (Visa Classic, Visa Gold MasterCard Gold) aimed at adult individuals acting for private purposes and valid subject to acceptance by ING Belgium and mutual agreement. The terms and conditions for the cards (General Terms and Conditions, charges and other additional information) are available at www.ing.be, from all ING branches and by phone on 02 464 60 02.

** The Home’Bank, Business’Bank or ING Smart Banking services (including the Bancontact/Mister Cash (BC/MC) network function) are available free of charge (except for any fees charged by your telecommunications operator and charges related to certain transactions, e.g. international bank transfers) for all customers with a Home’Bank, Business’Bank and/or ING Smart Banking subscription (subject to acceptance by ING and mutual agreement). The terms and conditions for the Home’Bank, Business’Bank and ING Smart Banking services (general terms and conditions for the Home’Bank, Business’Bank and ING Smart Banking services appended to ING’s General Regulations, rates for transactions and any other additional information) are available at www.ing.be, from your ING branch and by phone on 02 464 60 04.

*** Payconiq offer valid subject to acceptance by ING Belgium S.A. and, if applicable, by ING Bank nv, and subject to mutual agreement. The terms and conditions for the services (General Terms and Conditions, charges and other additional information) are available in all ING branches or at ing.be. "Payconiq" services are provided by ING Bank S.A. (Registered office: Bijlmerplein 888, 1102 MG Amsterdam, Amsterdam Trade Register No. 33031431) and offered by ING Belgium sa (Payconiq Partner).

ING Belgium S.A. - Bank/Lender - Avenue Marnix 24, B-1000 Brussels - Brussels RPM/RPR - VAT: BE 0403 200 393 – BIC: BBRUBEBB – IBAN: BE45 3109 1560 2789. Publisher: Inge Ampe - Cours Saint-Michel/Sint-Michielswarande 60, B-1040 Brussels - © Editing Team & Graphic Studio - Marketing ING Belgium.

Gérer votre budget

24 février 2017

Nouveaux moyens de paiement : la fin du cash ?

Le monde des transactions financières connaît depuis quelques années une véritable révolution. Le cash et les cartes sont presque devenus has been et sont concurrencés par des méthodes de plus en plus innovantes. Nous les examinons ici en détails pour vous.

Cartes bancaires : nouvelle génération

Evidemment les moyens traditionnels de paiement ne sont pas prêts de disparaître. Vous pouvez encore toujours payer dans les magasins en liquide et par carte (et pour encore probablement longtemps). Les cartes bancaires sont par contre de plus en plus innovantes.

Dans la catégorie cartes de débit (avec lesquelles les montants sont débités au moment-même de la transaction), on voit apparaître de plus en plus de cartes contactless : celles-ci permettent d’effectuer des paiements juste en les approchant d’un terminal, sans les y insérer, ni effectuer un code pin. Pour plus de sécurité, les montants qui peuvent être dépensés sont limités.

Quant aux cartes de crédit (qui permettent un paiement différé des achats), elles sont de plus en plus sécurisées pour éviter les fraudes lors des paiements en ligne. On peut notamment citer les systèmes "Verified by Visa" et "MasterCard SecureCode", qui ajoutent une étape de vérification supplémentaire obligatoire pour pouvoir effectuer des paiements en ligne, par exemple un mot de passe ou un code envoyé par sms. Vérifiez bien les sites sur lesquels vous faites vos achats, les plus sérieux adhèreront à ces protocoles.

Applications de paiement : payez avec votre smartphone !

Les applications pour smartphone sont la véritable innovation actuelle. Plus besoin de portefeuille pour régler vos achats ! En voici deux bien connues.

Payconiq : payez sans coordonnées bancaires

L’application Payconiq vous permet d’effectuer des paiements sans avoir besoin des coordonnées bancaires des destinataires.

  • Les magasins adhérents sont répertoriés dans l’application. Vous pouvez donc y réglez vos achats en les sélectionnant et en utilisant votre code pin pour confirmer le paiement.
  • De même, vous pouvez effectuer un paiement vers n’importe lequel de vos contacts qui dispose aussi de l’application, via son numéro de téléphone ou adresse e-mail. Il vous suffit de sélectionner le contact à qui vous souhaitez verser de l’argent et confirmer la transaction avec votre code pin.
  • Le plus : vous épargnez des points de fidélités joyn (Qustomer et CityLife) à chaque fois que vous utilisez Payconiq !
Bancontact : payez grâce à un QR code

L’application Bancontact vous permet de payer en magasin ou en ligne grâce à un simple scan.

  • Pour pouvoir utiliser l’application, il faut y préenregistrer vos cartes bancaires. A chaque transaction, vous pourrez choisir avec laquelle d’entre elles vous souhaitez payer.
  • Vous pourrez ensuite effectuer des paiements dans les magasins ou les webshops munis de la technologie : il vous suffira de scanner le code QR présenté par le commerçant. Vérifiez ensuite si le résultat correspond au montant de vos achats et confirmez la transaction avec votre code pin.
  • Bon à savoir : vous pouvez également recevoir des paiements. L’application vous permet de générer un code QR qui pourra être scanné par un autre utilisateur pour vous envoyer un paiement.

Vous n’avez pas de liquide et vous devez rembourser votre part du déjeuner au restaurant, ou de la journée passée dans un parc d’attraction, ou encore du cadeau d’anniversaire commun offert à votre ami ? Ces applications vous permettent de le faire en 1 clic !

PC Banking : mon environnement sécurisé

En dehors de ces nouveaux moyens de paiement, le PC Banking reste l’environnement en ligne sécurisé que votre banque met à votre disposition pour consulter vos comptes, effectuer vos transactions, etc. Grâce à cet outil, vous pouvez faire des paiements à partir de votre ordinateur si vous disposez des coordonnées bancaires de votre destinataire.

Par ailleurs, de nombreux sites d’achats en ligne vous proposent également de faire un paiement directement via votre système de PC Banking. Cela vous permet de passer par l’environnement sécurisé de votre banque pour régler vos achats.

À vous de jouer !

Vous êtes à présent paré à toutes les éventualités et pourrez toujours trouver un moyen pour effectuer vos paiements !

Vous voulez en savoir plus sur les nouvelles technologies de paiement ? Contactez votre interlocuteur ING, prenez rendez-vous dans une agence, ou appelez le +32 2 464 60 02.

Article écrit en collaboration avec TopCompare.

* Offre de cartes de débit ou cartes de crédit (Visa Classic, Visa Gold MasterCard Gold) destinées aux personnes physiques majeures agissant à des fins privées et valable sous réserve d’acceptation par ING Belgique et d’accord mutuel. Les conditions et modalités des cartes (Conditions générales, tarifs et autres informations complémentaires) sont disponibles sur www.ing.be, dans toutes les agences ING et par téléphone au numéro 02 464 60 02.

** Les services Home’Bank, Business’Bank ou ING Smart Banking (incluant les fonctions du réseau Bancontact/Mister Cash (BC/MC)) sont accessibles gratuitement (hors frais de votre opérateur de télécommunications et frais liés à certaines opérations, par ex. les virements internationaux) pour tous les titulaires d’un abonnement Home’Bank, Business’Bank et/ou ING Smart Banking (sous réserve d’acceptation par ING et d’accord mutuel). Les conditions et modalités des services Home’Bank, Business’Bank et ING Smart Banking (conditions générales des services Home’Bank, Business’Bank et ING Smart Banking en annexe du Règlement général des opérations d’ING, tarifs des opérations et toutes autres informations complémentaires) sont disponibles sur www.ing.be, dans votre agence ING et par téléphone au numéro 02 464 60 02.

*** Offre de Payconiq valable sous réserve d’acceptation par ING Belgique S.A. et, le cas échéant, par ING Bank nv, et moyennant accord mutuel. Les conditions et modalités des services (Conditions générales, tarifs et autres informations complémentaires) sont disponibles dans toutes les agences ING ou sur ing.be.Les services «Payconiq» sont fournis par ING Bank S.A. (Siège social : Bijlmerplein 888, 1102 MG Amsterdam, Registre de commerce Amsterdam n° 33031431) et proposés par ING Belgique sa (Partenaire de Payconiq).

ING Belgique S.A. – Banque/Prêteur – Avenue Marnix 24, B-1000 Bruxelles – RPM Bruxelles – TVA : BE 0403.200.393 – BIC : BBRUBEBB – IBAN : BE45 3109 1560 2789. Éditeur responsable : Inge Ampe – Cours Saint-Michel 60, B-1040 Bruxelles © Editing Team & Graphic Studio – Marketing ING Belgium