Building up capital

5 Januari 2018

Real estate: The key is diversification!


Given the current exceptionally low interest rate environment in which we live and the rather volatile state of the markets, many people are considering investing in real estate.
Unlike an investment in the financial markets, investing in real estate seems simpler and more accessible to the average Belgian and their love of “bricks and mortar”.

Bricks and mortar and "paper bricks and mortar"

Choosing to invest in bricks and mortar means investing in something tangible, something we are familiar with and therefore something reassuring. Those who make this choice think back to the attractive returns of investments made by older generations in recent decades.

However, investing in real estate can also be done indirectly through financial instruments. This is referred to as investing in "paper bricks and mortar". This category mainly consists of real estate funds and Regulated Real Estate Companies (RREC), formerly known as "SICAFI".

"Paper Bricks and Mortar": real estate funds and RRECs

No need for a solid budget, real estate funds pave the way, for a very limited amount, to a diversified real estate portfolio (international or European), actively managed by professionals. These funds invest in real estate companies that rent, manage, develop, buy and sell offices, residential property, shopping centres, logistics centres, nursing homes, hotels, etc. Fund managers are also attentive to portfolio diversification, both in terms of sectors and regions.

RRECs generally invest in property: either in business premises, office space, warehouses, rest homes or residential buildings. While they remain less diversified than real estate funds, RRECs can invest up to 20% of their capital in the same building. In addition, they can borrow 65% of the value of their portfolio and must distribute 80% of their earnings in the form of dividends. In both cases, the investor benefits from access to a more diversified real estate stock, but also from the advantages related to economies of scale resulting from the professional management of the portfolio (for example maintenance weighs less heavily on performance than in the case of a private investment) and the financial leverage capacity of the fund or the RREC (which are financed at a lower cost compared to the private investor, because of the diversification of their sources of financing).

It is important for private investors to realise that investing in this type of product is not the same as investing in residential real estate. In other words, this product cannot be seen as a hedge while waiting for the purchase of a house, for example.

Bricks and mortar vs. "paper bricks and mortar": the main advantages and disadvantages

Follow the link below for a comparison table outlining the advantages and disadvantages of investing in a property, a RREC or a real estate fund:
> Comparative table (in french) of the advantages and disadvantages of investing in a property, a Regulated Real Estate Company (RREC) or a real estate fund.

Risks associated with real estate investments

Investing in real estate, whether it be directly or through "paper bricks and mortar", is not without risk. Vacancy risk, non-payment by a tenant, loss (fire, storm, water damage, etc.), degradation of a building (related to wear, deterioration or obsolescence of a property in the face of new legal requirements, etc.), the impact of a rise in interest rates or a legislative change are all risks that must be taken into account when opting for a real estate investment.

Moreover, while residential real estate enjoyed a nominal growth of 115% in the decade preceding 2008, according to experts, growth rates in the current decade for the same sector look set to be limited to one-tenth of that, an average growth lower than inflation. It would therefore appear that past performance in no way guarantees future performance.

A real estate investment must always be conceived as a diversification based on a personal investment profile

The impact of a rate hike (which one day hopefully should happen), would also be felt. According to our experts, any rate increase of 1% would result in a 9% rise in monthly mortgage loan payments for the same amount borrowed over 20 years. The prospective buyer would therefore have to either inject more capital or find a much cheaper property. In such a context, a rise in interest rates would quickly lower the prospects for capital gains for private investors who would find themselves faced with a real estate market that is more difficult or even embarked on a sustainable downward path.

In conclusion, a real estate investment must always be conceived as a diversification based on a personal investment profile, taking into account a person’s overall assets. Due consideration must be given to the weight of your own home in your portfolio before investing more in this asset class. Indeed, many Belgians are overweighting this asset class in their overall estate.

In this perspective, and to ensure that a new investment in real estate does not unbalance your portfolio, expanding this type of investment to different sectors (hotels, commercial leases, industrial ...) may be more cautious and judicious.

Interested in investing in real estate?

Bâtir votre capital

06 avril 2017

Immobilier : Soyez attentifs à la
diversification !


Parce que nous vivons dans un environnement de taux exceptionnellement bas, et que les marchés se montrent plutôt volatiles, nombreux sont ceux qui envisagent d’investir dans l’immobilier.
Contrairement à un investissement sur les marchés financiers, investir dans l’immobilier semble plus simple, plus accessible au Belge, connu pour « avoir une brique dans le ventre ».

Brique et « brique papier »

Choisir d’investir dans la brique, c’est investir dans quelque chose de tangible, que l’on connait et qui rassure. Ceux qui font ce choix gardent en mémoire les rendements attrayants des investissements faits par leurs ainés ces dernières décennies.

Toutefois, investir dans l’immobilier peut aussi se faire de manière indirecte, par le biais d’instruments financiers. On parle alors d’investir dans la « brique papier ». Pour cette dernière catégorie, on pense ici principalement aux fonds immobiliers et aux Sociétés Immobilières Réglementées (SIR), anciennement dénommées « SICAFI ».

« Brique papier » : fonds immobiliers et SIR

Nul besoin de disposer d’un solide budget, les fonds immobiliers permettent d’accéder, pour un montant très limité, à un portefeuille immobilier diversifié (international ou européen), géré de manière active par des professionnels. Ces fonds investissent dans des sociétés immobilières qui louent, gèrent, développent, achètent et vendent des bureaux, du résidentiel, des centres commerciaux, des centres de logistique, des maisons médicalisées, des hôtels etc. Les gestionnaires de fonds sont par ailleurs attentifs à la diversification de leur portefeuille tant en termes de secteurs que de régions.

Les SIR investissent généralement, quant à elles, dans des biens immobiliers : soit dans des locaux d’entreprises, des espaces de bureaux, des entrepôts, des maisons de repos ou des immeubles résidentiels. Si elles demeurent moins diversifiées que les fonds immobiliers, les SIR ne peuvent investir au maximum que 20 % de leur capital dans un même immeuble. Par ailleurs, elles peuvent emprunter 65 % de la valeur de leur portefeuille et doivent distribuer 80 % de leur bénéfice sous forme de dividendes.

Dans les deux cas, l’investisseur profite d’un accès à un parc immobilier plus diversifié mais aussi des bénéfices liés aux économies d’échelle qui découlent de la gestion professionnelle du portefeuille (l’entretien pèse notamment moins lourd sur le rendement que dans un investissement particulier) et de la capacité de levier financier du fonds ou de la SIR (qui se financent à moindre coût par rapport à l’investisseur privé, du fait de la diversification de leurs sources de financement).

Il est important que l’investisseur particulier réalise qu’investir dans ce type de produit n’équivaut pas à investir dans de l’immobilier résidentiel. Ce produit ne peut donc pas se concevoir comme couverture dans l’attente de l’achat d’une maison, par exemple.

Brique, « brique papier » : principaux avantages et inconvénients

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez un tableau comparatif des avantages et inconvénients d’un investissement dans un bien immobilier, une SIR ou un fonds immobilier :

Risques liés à un investissement immobilier

Un investissement immobilier, qu’il se fasse en direct ou par l’intermédiaire de la « brique papier », n’est pas sans risque. Vide locatif, défaut de paiement d’un locataire, sinistre (incendie, tempête, dégâts des eaux, …), dégradation d’un immeuble (liée à l’usure, la détérioration ou l’obsolescence d’un bien face aux nouvelles exigences légales…), incidence d’une hausse des taux d’intérêt, d’un changement législatif sont autant de risques dont il faut tenir compte lorsque l’on choisit d’investir dans l’immobilier.

Par ailleurs, si l'immobilier résidentiel connut une croissance nominale de 115 % lors de la décennie précédant 2008, la croissance de la décennie actuelle pour ce même secteur devrait, selon les experts, être limitée au dixième de cela, soit une croissance en moyenne inférieure à l’inflation. Il apparaitrait clairement dès lors que les performances passées ne préjugent en aucune manière des performances futures.

L’incidence d’une hausse des taux (qui un jour on l’espère devrait arriver), ne serait pas non plus sans conséquence. Selon nos experts, toute hausse des taux de 1 % entrainerait un accroissement de 9 % des mensualités d’un crédit hypothécaire pour le même montant emprunté sur 20 ans. Le candidat acheteur devrait donc, soit apporter plus de fonds propres, soit trouver un bien moins cher. Dans un tel contexte, une remontée des taux auraient vite fait d’abaisser encore les perspectives de plus-values pour les investisseurs privés qui évolueraient sur un marché immobilier plus difficile, voire durablement orienté à la baisse.

"Un investissement immobilier doit toujours se concevoir à titre de diversification en fonction de son profil d’investissement."

En conclusion, un investissement immobilier doit toujours se concevoir à titre de diversification en fonction de son profil d’investissement et ce, dans la globalité de son patrimoine. Il convient d’être attentif au poids de sa propre habitation dans son portefeuille avant d’investir davantage dans cette classe d’actif. En effet, nombreux sont les Belges à surpondérer cette classe d’actif dans leur patrimoine.

Dans cette optique et si un nouvel investissement dans l’immobilier ne devait pas déséquilibrer votre portefeuille, élargir ce type d’investissement à différents secteurs (hôtels, baux commerciaux, industriels…) peut s’avérer plus prudent et judicieux.

Intéressé par un investissement dans l’immobilier ?

Prenez rendez-vous dans une agence ING ou contactez votre interlocuteur ING, qui vous guidera dans vos choix. Ensemble, vous trouverez les solutions qui vous correspondent selon votre situation personnelle, vos besoins, vos objectifs et votre profil d’investissement.